• Congratulations to the 2023-2024 SAAS Visiting Professors!
  • Zhi Fong, MD is the recipient of the 2024 SAAS Junior Faculty Award!
  • Radhika Rastogi, MD is the recipient of the 2024 Esther Tsai Sugg Award for the highest scoring SAAS abstract to 2024 Academic Surgical Congress!
  • Christy Chai, MD is the recipient of the 2024 SAAS-SUS Mid-Career Award!
  • Areeba Saif, MD is the recipient of the 2023 SAAS-AWS Resident Research Travel Award!
  • Raja Narayan, MD, MPH is the recipient of the 2023 SAAS Resident/Fellow Development Scholarship!
  • Jeremy Chang, MD is the winner of the 2023 SAAS Annual Meeting Travel Award!
  • Russell Woo, MD is the recipient of the 2023 SAAS-SUS Leadership Agility Program Scholarship!

Institutional Member

Since its inception, the Society of Asian Academic Surgeons has been committed to the personal and career development of Asian academic surgeons. In keeping with this mission, the Society of Asian Academic Surgeons (SAAS) Foundation supports the SAAS Visiting Professor Program, the SAAS-Society of University Surgeons Promising Leaders Program, SAAS Diversity and Inclusion Initiative, and other important programs. If an institution pledges/donates $2,000 per year, it will be named an Institutional Member. Institutional members will have access to the Job Board, recognition at the SAAS Annual Meeting and supported events, and unlimited memberships for trainees (students, residents, fellows).


Institutional Member

Boston University Medical Center (2022-2023) (Chair: Dr. Jennifer Tseng)
City of Hope (lifetime sponsorship) (Chair: Dr. Yuman Fong)
Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Center (2022-2023) (Chair: Dr. Sandra Wong)
Duke University (2022-2023) (Chair: Dr. Allan Kirk / Sponsor: Dr. Suresh “Mitu” Agarwal)
Indiana University (2023-2024) (Chair: Dr. Karl Bilimoria)
Loma Linda University (2022-2023) (Chair: Dr. Sharon S. Lum)
Louisiana State University Health New Orleans (2022-2023) (Chair: Dr. Valentine Nfonsam)
Medical College of Wisconsin (2022-2023) (Chair: Dr. Douglas B. Evans / Sponsor: Dr. Tracy Wang)
Northwestern University (2022-2023) (Chair: Dr. Hasan B. Alam)
Ohio State University (2023-2024) (Chair: Dr. Tim Pawlik)
Roswell Park Institute (2023-2024) (Sponsor: Dr. Sai Yendamuri)
Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School (Chair: Dr. Leonard Y. Lee / Sponsor: Dr. Haejin In)
Tulane University (2022-2023) (Chair: Dr. Mary Killackey)
University of Alabama at Birmingham (2022-2023) (Chair: Dr. Herb Chen)
University of California, Los Angeles (2022-2023) (Chair: Dr. O. Joe Hines)
University of California, San Diego (2022-2023) (Chair: Dr. Bryan Clary)
University of Cincinnati (2022-2023) (Chair: Dr. Jeffrey Sussman)
University of Colorado (lifetime sponsorship) (Chair: Dr. Richard Schulick)
University of Florida – Jacksonville (2022-2023) (Chair: Dr. Leigh Neumayer)
University of Miami (2022-2023) (Sponsor: Dr. Nipun Merchant)
University of Pittsburgh (2022-2023) (Chair: Dr. Timothy R. Billiar)
University of South Florida (2022-2023) (Chair: Dr. Murray L. Shames / Sponsor: Dr. Paul Kuo)
University of Washington (2023-2024) (Chair: Dr. Douglas Wood)
Utah University (2023-2024) (Chair: Dr. Fiemu Nwariaku)
Virginia Commonwealth University (2022-2023) (Chair: Dr. Vigneshwar Kasirajan)
Yale University (2022-2024) (Chair: Dr. Nita Ahuja)

Institutional Membership

If you are interested in pledging to the Foundation, please contact Herb Chen, SAAS Foundation President at herbchen@uab.edu.

Membership fees are to be remitted annually, and payment can be made either online or by check. For those opting to pay by check, kindly make it payable to the “Society of Asian Academic Surgeons” and dispatch it to the designated address provided below.

Society of Asian Academic Surgeons Foundation
Boshell Diabetes Building, 505
1720 2nd Avenue South
Birmingham, AL 35294

As a 501(c)(3) organization, the Society ensures that all contributions are tax-deductible in accordance with the prevailing legal provisions. Any inquiries pertaining to specific institutional documentation or additional information required for the transfer of payments should be directed to the Treasurer.