• Congratulations to the 2023-2024 SAAS Visiting Professors!
  •  Syed Nabeel Zafar, MD is the recipient of the 2023 SAAS Junior Faculty Award!
  • Taylor Lee, BS is the recipient of the 2023 Esther Tsai Sugg Award for the highest scoring SAAS abstract to the Academic Surgical Congress!
  • Jiping Wang, MD, PhD is the recipient of the 2023 SAAS – SUS Mid Career Award!
  • Calvin Chao, MD, is the recipient of the 2022 SAAS Resident/Fellow Development Scholarship!
  • Jeremy Chang, MD is the winner of the 2023 SAAS Annual Meeting Travel Award!
  • Russell Woo, MD is the recipient of the 2023 SAAS – SUS Leadership Agility Program Scholarship!


Designing an Inclusive Operating Room

As the surgical workforce makes strides toward greater gender and minority representation, Dr. Meghal Shah proposes a few crucial ways to make the operating room, including surgical instrument design, more accessible for everyone.

Join Us in Baltimore

Preview what’s in store for the SAAS 8th annual meeting in Baltimore, Maryland, Sept. 14-15, 2023.

SAAS Leadership Highlights

SAAS celebrates member accomplishments, including Dr. Mayur B. Patel who was named Chief of the Division of Acute Care Surgery at Vanderbilt University Medical Center.

A Moment with SAAS

This season, we feature Dr. Herbert Chen, chair of the Department of Surgery at the University of Alabama at Birmingham.