• Congratulations to the 2022-2023 SAAS Visiting Professors!
  • Lily Cheng, MD is the recipient of the 2022 SAAS Junior Faculty Award!
  • Vivek Pamulapati, MD is the recipient of the 2022 Esther Tsai Sugg Award for the highest scoring SAAS abstract to the Academic Surgical Congress!
  • Romeo Ignacio MD, Chee-Chee Stucky MD, and Hop Tran Cao MD are the recipients of the 2022 SAAS – SUS Mid Career Award!
  • Calvin Chao, MD, is the recipient of the 2022 SAAS Resident/Fellow Development Scholarship!
  • Jaewon Lee is the winner of the 2022 SAAS Annual Meeting Travel Award!
  • Romeo Ignacio, MD is the recipient of the SAAS – SUS Leadership Agility Program Scholarship!

SAAS Leadership Highlights

The Society of Asian Academic Surgeons would like to congratulate our members on the following accomplishments: Kenric M. Murayama, MD, was reappointed governor of the American College of Surgeons (2022-2025). Thomas K. Varghese Jr., MD, MS, MBA, was named...

Medical Student Student Reflections

Gopika SenthilKumar and Nate Verhagen, medical students at the Medical College of Wisconsin, attended their first SAAS meeting last September in Hawaii. For Gopika, the experience was a refreshing experience that she had not realized she was missing: “I had a moment...