SAAS Visiting Professors

The Society of Asian Academic Surgeons Foundation Visiting Professorships are open for SAAS Active Members who are faculty members at the Assistant or Associate Professor level and are within the first 10 years of their faculty appointment. It will support their travel to host institutions to give grand rounds and will increase the national visibility of rising stars in academic surgery.

We are pleased to announce the six SAAS Visiting Professorships for the 2018-2019 academic year. Congratulations!


  • Brigham and Women’s Hospital (Host: Gerard Doherty, MD)
    • Raymond and Rose Tseng SAAS Lectureship
    • Daniel Chu, MD (University of Alabama at Birmingham)
  • City of Hope (Host: Yuman Fong, MD)
    • Anthony Yang, MD (Northwestern University)
  • Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center (Host: Sandra Wong, MD)
    • Wen-Hain Wang SAAS Lectureship
    • Vikas Dudeja, MD (University of Miami)
  • University of Chicago  (Host: Jeffrey Matthews, MD)
    • Mike and Faye Yang SAAS Lectureship
    • Ankush Gosain, MD (University of Tennessee Health Sciences Center)
  • University of Colorado (Host: Richard Schulick, MD)
    • Teh Ling and Yu Chen Ko Visiting Professorship
    • Haejin In, MD (Montefiore Medical Center)
  • University of South Florida (Host: Paul Kuo, MD)
    • Hong Mo and His Mei Chen SAAS Lectureship
    • Wen Shen, MD (University of California, San Francisco)

If you are interested in being a 2019-2020 SAAS Visiting Professor, we are now accepting applications!

The following institutions will be the host institutions for the 2019-2020 year:

  1. Boston University
  2. University of Miami
  3. City of Hope
  4. Johns Hopkins
  5. Tulane
  6. Ohio State

If you are interested in being a SAAS Visiting Professor, please email the application materials to SAAS Foundation President Herb Chen, MD, at by December 15, 2018.

The application requirements include:

  1. Letter of interest
  2. Curriculum vitae
  3. Ranking of institutions, in order of preference

The SAAS Foundation Board of Directors will review all applications and make final determinations regarding the six 2019-2020 Visiting Professors and matching of the Visiting Professor to a particular institution. Applicants will be notified of a decision by January 15, 2019.