• Congratulations to the 2023-2024 SAAS Visiting Professors!
  • Zhi Fong, MD is the recipient of the 2024 SAAS Junior Faculty Award!
  • Radhika Rastogi, MD is the recipient of the 2024 Esther Tsai Sugg Award for the highest scoring SAAS abstract to 2024 Academic Surgical Congress!
  • Christy Chai, MD is the recipient of the 2024 SAAS-SUS Mid-Career Award!
  • Areeba Saif, MD is the recipient of the 2023 SAAS-AWS Resident Research Travel Award!
  • Raja Narayan, MD, MPH is the recipient of the 2023 SAAS Resident/Fellow Development Scholarship!
  • Jeremy Chang, MD is the winner of the 2023 SAAS Annual Meeting Travel Award!
  • Russell Woo, MD is the recipient of the 2023 SAAS-SUS Leadership Agility Program Scholarship!


 The Society of Asian Academic Surgeons (SAAS)-Association of Women Surgeons (AWS) Resident Travel Award is a $1000 travel grant supporting attendance of a surgical resident trainee at the SAAS Annual Meeting. The meeting this year will be hosted by Tulane University, Department of Surgery, from Sept 5-6, 2024 in New Orleans, Louisana.

Deadline for applications: May 31, 2024
Notification of award by: July 12, 2024

Application requirements:

  1. Limited to residents (fellows are not eligible to apply)
  2. Personal statement summarizing applicant’s career goals and reason for applying for this award (400 word maximum).
  3. CV (must include the applicant’s current title, institution, email).
  4. 2 letters of recommendations, including 1 from applicant’s residency program director. The second letter may be from a mentor or other faculty member, besides the residency program director.
  5. Statement on your involvement with AWS, including number of years as a AWS member, and meetings attended (required). Statement on your involvement with SAAS, including number of years as a SAAS member, and meetings attended, if applicable. Applicant must be a member of AWS. SAAS membership is encouraged.
  6. Abstract submission to the SAAS Annual Meeting (including the abstract number).


Previous Recipients


Areeba Saif, MD
UTHealth Houston McGovern Medical School


Connie Shao, MD